First Book Design Meeting

FrancescaMoore_01

Image © Francesca Moore

Last week I had my first meeting with the designer to discuss my ideas and design considerations for the Bhopal: Facing 30 book. It was preceded, and followed, by lots of trips to bookshops to gawp at and feel all the covers and paper stocks available. I pretty much know what I’m after as I’ve been thinking about it for some time now, but it’s another thing translating that to a printers without all their years of book-binding terminology at hand! I’m learning that it’s a very personal thing, to make an art book, and how it looks and feels is every bit as important to me as the content. I must’ve received some strange looks in The Photographers’ Gallery bookshop when I started matching up all the lovely books to my ready-made template!

Anyway, I was extremely pleased with the first design meeting as we appeared to share many of the same ideas and visions for the book, which is great and very reassuring. And now I’m really looking forward to getting on with the rest of the book design and page layouts. The book will showcase both parts of the project; the wall and the family portraits. Unfortunately, besides little snippets like this picture above, I won’t be giving away too much just yet.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

